Poetry Thursday (My week 19.0)

Chant L’Amour (Eng: Sing about love)

by Joseph Reginald Topize aka KAYA

Mo rapel kan mo ti zenfant
Mo enseignant ti fini so letemp
Pou fer mwa komprend tousa ki emba loa

Mo ti vive dans siperstition
Etourer ek tou sa ki fer moi peur
Pou mo liberter zotte ki ti decider

La mo ena ene chance fine ouvert ek ene lalimiere
Mo koumense geutter ki frekentation ki mo ena
Mo ena ene chance fine ouvert ek so lintelligence
Mo lavie pieger telment li precier
La mo ena ene chance fine ouvert ek ene lalimiere
La mo pou dire zotte ki mo resenti

Bizin kozer laveriter zenesse
Nou fami ki ti la pa ti lai tender
Kommien fine mort ti p bizin lasagesse

Tou letemp ine regete sa ki bon
Tou nou lavie ti fini dan lahaine
Mo p chante lamour pou nou gagne liberter


Photo courtesy: Jahmusik.net


English translation

I remember when I was a child
My teacher took a lot of time
To teach me things that didn’t make sense.

I lived in superstition
Entagled in everything I’m afraid of
It was them which dictated my freedom.

Now I have an opportunity and a light
I start to care about the influences around me
I have an opportunity and intelligence
My life is in a fix because it so precious
Now I have an opportunity and a light
Now I will tell you how I feel.

Tell the truth, youngsters
The families which were there refused to listen
The many who died need intelligence.

We always rejected what was good
All of our lives ended in hatred
I am singing about love so that we earn our freedom.

Note:

  • KAYA is a Mauritian and is considered as the father of Seggae, a type of music close to Sega, in the country.  He wrote in Creole, the people’s language.  KAYA always sang from his heart and his songs are marvellous.  His voice is exceptionally full of emotions.  He died in February 1999 in a police cell and all facts point towards police brutality.

    RIP.

  • I did the translation and it’s not as excellent as the original Creole version.  If you understand Creole and you think you can better translate some verses, please let me know.
  • Check out Poetry Thursday and cry your heart out every Thursdays. The concept is simple: share poetry on your blog.

powered by performancing firefox

5 Responses to “Poetry Thursday (My week 19.0)”


  1. 1 viccks 21 December, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    didaptap dadadido.. didaptap dadadide..
    mo pe chant lamour pou gagne liberT

    just tooooooooooo good this one!!

  2. 2 twitches 22 December, 2006 at 7:12 pm

    Terrific lyrics; thanks for the background, it helps ever so much.

  3. 3 md 25 September, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    hi,

    The big Joseph Reginald Topize well known as KAYA was our local Bob Marley but unfortunately he left too earlier.

    And fortunately he left by giving us the most beautiful gift and knowledge of life, love and respect.

    Respect to him

  4. 4 Florence 9 February, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Kaya c nou bob…par so lamisik line fer bocou dimoune dancé ek réfléci…so la mor rest ene mistère mé o fon de nou,nou coné ki raciste ek mépri ine gagn victoire!! but he lives in everyone heart and memory…jah bless!!!!


  1. 1 Chant L’amour - Kaya « Hey Krishna! Trackback on 22 February, 2008 at 1:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


