Poetry Thursday (My week 17.0)

The first poem I remember reading/hearing/reacting to was …

this Tagore poem.  It’s still one of my favourites.

I was forced to memorize a Keat’s poem (forgot the name!) in school and …

…I didn’t understand a single thing about it.  I was only 12 mind you.

I read poetry because …

…It’s the simplest way of expressing oneself – however complex it may sometimes seem to be.

A poem I’m likely to think about when asked about a favorite poem is …

…Indeed, the Tagore poem.

I would ask for still more
If I had the sky with all its stars,
And the world with its endless riches;

But I would be content
With the smallest corner of this earth,
If only she were mine.

–Rabindranath Tagore, Collected Poems and Plays, Lover’s Gift (V)

I write write poetry, but …

…I
admit that not all of them are good ones, in the sense that I was not
able to express my feelings properly.  I couldn’t translate my emotions
into words.

My experience with reading poetry differs from my experience with reading other types of literature …

…Because a really good piece of poetry inspires me.

I find poetry …

…One of purest forms of literature.

The last time I heard poetry …

…I don’t think I gave it any second thoughts because I can’t remember when was the last time I heard poetry!

I think poetry is like …

…Feelings and emotions in words.  Just magic.

Note:

  • Different concept today at Poetry Thursday.  It’s a meme.
  • Check out Poetry Thursday and cry your heart out every Thursdays. The concept is simple: share poetry on your blog.


10 Responses to “Poetry Thursday (My week 17.0)”


  1. 1 leonie 7 December, 2006 at 9:52 am

    thanks for the intro to tagore. it’s really interesting reading the memes that have been submitted so far and finding some new gems!

  2. 2 Khalil A. 7 December, 2006 at 9:54 am

    Leonie, you should go buy some of his books. His poetry and short stories, in particular, are just outstanding.

  3. 4 Bice 7 December, 2006 at 12:36 pm

    I find poetry one of purest forms of literature.

    here! here! Well said.

  4. 5 R's Musings 7 December, 2006 at 6:59 pm

    Enjoyed the Tagore poem. And I agree, poetry is “just magic.”

  5. 6 Michelle 7 December, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    You’re right. Poetry is magic.

    And I think poetry is all subjective. Good, bad – who really has the authority to define that? If you were able to express yourself through poetry, then that in itself is a success!

  6. 7 Hans 7 December, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    thanks for sharing your first touch with poetry…and now I just understand that sometimes the ramblings that I scribbled may be infact poetry…but because they are emotions down within me, I don’t perhaps publish them. Would it be fear or would it because sometimes people don’t like to let others know about their emotions?

  7. 8 Khalil A. 7 December, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    Hans, I suppose if the poems are really too personal, you may want to keep them for yourself. I think it’s mostly because one does not want to let his weaker sides known to others. It was the same with me and my friends and vice-versa, but now they are probably the first ones to actually read the poem!

    It all depends on how much you know and trust those who are reading. But it is very understandable if you want to keep them as your little secret.

  8. 9 lizelayne 8 December, 2006 at 6:16 am

    thanks for this introduction to tagore…
    and poetry is magic – yes, yes, yes!

  9. 10 ren.kat 10 December, 2006 at 5:57 pm

    Thanks also for the Tagore links.


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


