Illusions

Want to know which picture has made it to my desktop wallpaper? Here you go:

Are the snakes rotating or not? Obviously they are not.  But your mind thinks they do and right now I have a sort of animation on my desktop!

There are many many more illusions which you may find interesting over here.  I particularly like this one too:

Cognitive science remains one of the field we are poorest in.  It’s only now that scientists are starting to probe in the secrets that it holds and the more we decode, the more we find how utterly complex the mind is.

For this one here, the grey line is indeed horizontal although your mind thinks that it’s slightly tilted.  You can read why and how your mind has been fouled here.
What makes this phenomenon really interesting is when rectangles are combined in creative ways. In the cafe wall illusion, for example, the placement of the blocks next to a line makes the same line appear “darker” or “lighter” depending on what it’s next to

P.S.  Click on the pictures to get the full-sized versions.

powered by performancing firefox

2 Responses to “Illusions”


  1. 1 Hans 7 December, 2006 at 9:54 am

    And I say woooooooooooooooooooooohhhh, that’s amazing. Nice find pal….very captivating 😉 did you say on your desktop? weren’t you feeling sleepy/hypnotised each time you switched to view that desktop of yours? thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. 2 Khalil A. 7 December, 2006 at 9:58 am

    I’m afraid I’ll have to remove it from the desktop. I sure was nice to have an “animation” for some time though.


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

thetigre

the village of the monster

zxcde

More Photos

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


