Poetry Thursday (My week 13.0)

My happy sorry land

by Khalil A. Cassimally

What is this land?
Sand and sand with no man
So immense and yet so barren.

In this land
There is no interference
No pollution.

In this land
There are no birds singing
No life.

But I’m happy
To see this land
Worthless to most of us
But pure and untouched,
A sorry land.

The land the gods didn’t see
The land forgotten by the babies
The land left on its own, in peace.

I’m happy
To see this land
Worthless to most of us
But pure and untouched,
A sorry land.

A sorry land
Where I run and laugh
A sorry land
Where tears and fears do not have a place.

Note:

  • A place only I know, in other words.
  • Check out Poetry Thursday and cry your heart out every Thursdays. The concept is simple: share poetry on your blog.

Technorati Tags:

powered by performancing firefox

3 Responses to “Poetry Thursday (My week 13.0)”


  1. 1 Shaastra 29 September, 2006 at 3:25 am

    n. character in Anancy tales. Said to be the son of lewd, vulgar lyrics popular in DJ singing (4) Ancient Hebrew meaning to “separate”, consecrated,

  2. 2 samantha 29 September, 2006 at 7:41 am

    Very sad, but a good poem. I really like the line, “the land the gods didn’t see.”

  3. 3 Khalil A. 30 September, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    Hey thanks Samantha. I personally do not edit my poems but I think if I work on this one a little bit, it’ll really come out great.

    ‘Greater’ if possible!


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

thetigre

the village of the monster

zxcde

More Photos

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


