The mystery that is miscalling

Ah, miscall! For those who are not too mobile phone savvy, miscalling is the act of phoning someone on the latter’s mobile number but disconnecting/ending the call after the first ring.

Simple enough but what’s the point, you ask? Well, to be fair, that’s the big mystery.  Obviously, I first used miscalling as a “call me” message.  Like, I would miscall someone and he would call me back.

I have to say, I was very old-fashioned then.

Once, a long time ago, one of my best friends miscalled me.  Innocent as I was, I texted her to ask why she had called.

“You called? What’s up?”
“No, nothing.  I was only thinking about you, that’s all.”

“Oh, very cool indeed.  Always knew I am this special.  Ok, I don’t want to seem like an idiot but why miscall then?”
“Don’t worry about the idiot thing, you do sound like one now.  Kidding! Well, I didn’t really have anything to say so I just miscalled.  That’s what we  do when we think about someone: miscall.”

“Um… seems stupid but I suppose I’m in the fun now, aren’t I?”
“You sure are.”

So, I got to know that miscall means to tell someone that you’re thinking about him/her.  Well, the concept is not as stupid as I once thought.  I mean it’s a great way to express a feeling, isn’t it?

My girlfriend and I however use miscalls in a slightly different way.

19:03- Vibrations emitted by my mobile phone.  My girlfriend just misscalled.  I admit that it’s three “bzzzzzz”s and not one. -Bzzzzzz.  Bzzzzzz.  Bzzzzzz.
19:03- Yes, I’m miscalling her now – Toooooooooo.  Tooooooooooo. Toooooooo.

19:04 – Vibrations indeed – Bzzzzzzzzz.  Bzzzzzzzzz.
19:06 – Indeed! – Toooooooo.  Toooooooooo.  Toooooooo.

“We could go on like this for ages.”
“Yeah.  Want to chat tonight?”

“Of course.”
“Cool.”

Miscalling is a way of interaction and it’s as simple as that.  I don’t think there’s anything more to add.

UPDATE: Why don’t you people post something about those funny, weird and yet, modern (huh!) ways of communication? It may be cool.

UPDATE 2: Yes, I’m in a particularly good mood tonight.  Miles different from this!

powered by performancing firefox

0 Responses to “The mystery that is miscalling”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


