Poetry that inspires me

I’ve been reading a bit of Rabindranath Tagore from time to time and I came to the simple conclusion that the man is a pure genius.

Judge for yourself.

I would ask for still more
If I had the sky with all its stars,
And the world with its endless riches;

But I would be content
With the smallest corner of this earth,
If only she were mine.

Rabindranath Tagore, Collected Poems and Plays, Lover’s Gift (V)

I dreamt that she sat by my head,
Tenderly ruffling my hair with her fingers,
Playing the melody of her touch.

I looked at her face
And struggled with my tears,
Till the agony of unspoken words
Burst my sleep like a bubble.

I sat up and saw the glow of the Milky Way above my window,
Like a world of silence on fire,
And I wondered if at this moment
She had a dream that rhymed with me

Rabindranath Tagore, Collected Poems and Plays, Lover’s Gift (XXVIII)

I’m feeling very emotional quite suddenly.  I hope you are as well.

0 Responses to “Poetry that inspires me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


