My passion for writing

I have been told by several friends, that I write really well. Obviously, every time I get such a compliment, I feel very proud but most importantly, I feel really happy. Finally, after two years that I have been writing on a more regular basis, my work is being read and appreciated by people. That's really a very cool feeling indeed.

However some people still think that le coup de plume runs in the blood. This is true to a certain extent only, I'll say. I have to admit that I do not have make any great efforts so that the story I'm writing has a certain flow. I comes quite naturally.

Writing though, is not only being able to have a flow in the story one writes. Writing is always coupled with research, organisation, dedication, frustration and an agonising wait.

My love for writing germinated some ten eight years ago, in Standard 6, when we had to write a 150-word composition. I was (still am) really lazy and dad had to do something to make me start to write. One night, he became furious with my incapability to actually write some decent English and ordered me to wake up early the next day and have two full compositions ready for him.

I woke up early and started writing. I remember only one of the compositions I wrote that morning. The composition was about two neighbours. One was a musician and he was always playing his guitar till late at night. This, inevitably infuriated his neighbour. One day however, there was no music to be heard at night. The musician's neighbour pleasantly surprised at first. He thought that for once, he'll be able to have a good night's sleep. Unfortunately he did not. He was sort of missing the music. Like in the way, a person who has been living on a busy and noisy road cannot sleep properly when in a quiet appartment.

I also remember how I could not convey this very message. I could not describe how what the musician's neighbour felt when he could not sleep although there was no music. The everyday life pattern has changed and that did not go along with him.

After these two compositions, I cannot really remember but the writer in me had been lighted. I then remember how I was writing names of characters on a sheet of paper – and using it as a casting sheet.  I was using the same characters over and over again.  My characters were like actors and they played different roles in different stories.

I began writing just for the fun of it and that was pretty much it.  I was a writer although I didn't know about that back then.  I considered myself as I writer some six months ago, when I was pubilshed in News on Sunday, a Mauritian weekly.  At present times, I write non-fiction, especially science, creative non-fiction, fiction and random poetry lines. And I love it.

That's the most important thing, I guess.  Whether other people like what I'm writing or not is important to me.  But the most important thing is whether I'm enjoying myself while I'm writing.

And yes, I am… 

10 Responses to “My passion for writing”


  1. 1 farrukh: copywriter & journalist 31 May, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    Hi Khalil,

    I have been writing for 10 years now – advertising and journalism. Bits of poetry when I have a muse.

    Enjoyed reading what you wrote – you are right, we should right primarily that which makes us happy.

    farrukh
    copywriter, journalist, blogaholic

  2. 2 khalil 31 May, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    Poetry really comes in a flash we one’s in love, true!

  3. 3 Eddy Young 3 June, 2006 at 12:43 am

    I have enjoyed writing since I was in primary school, too. And, like you, the vocation came after a rather traumatic experience that deserves recounting here.

    When I was in Standard V in Rodrigues, one of my brothers was studying in France, and we kept in touch by writing letters to each other. Every month or so, I would be receiving a letter from him and would write back straightaway for him to get the letter the next month. That was a time when the Internet was unheard of and international calls to France cost Rs 40 a minute.

    Anyway, one day I arrived back home from school to find an unusually thick envelope mailed from France. Instead of getting a special treat as I was expecting with excitement, I found my last letter sent back to me and covered with red markings. My brother, perhaps alarmed by my poor French, had corrected all my mistakes and written a very terse accompanying letter. For a 10-year old who looked up to his brother, that was a terrible experience. But, I never ever made a single mistake in my letters after that and even went on to win the Alliance Francaise writing competition.

    To this day, I enjoy writing and try to improve my technique through my blog. I’m not always successful, but at least I enjoy every second of the time I spend doing it.

    – Eddy

  4. 4 khalil 3 June, 2006 at 7:30 am

    I don’t know why but sending written letters and waiting for the reply seems to have something different with it. It seems more special than an email. Much more personal and all, if you know what I mean.

    Or maybe that’s because we’re not used to communicating in this way nowadays.

  5. 5 noobsinc 29 November, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Really a nice post. I wish to write like you. 🙂

  6. 6 This Web page This Site 20 November, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks for your helpful post. Through the years, I have been able
    to understand that the symptoms of mesothelioma are caused by a build up connected fluid between lining of the lung and the upper body cavity.
    The condition may start from the chest region and distribute to other
    areas of the body. Other symptoms of pleural mesothelioma cancer include losing
    weight, severe breathing in trouble, fever, difficulty ingesting, and inflammation of the
    neck and face areas. It must be noted that some people existing with the disease do not experience every serious indicators at all.

  7. 7 laser hair removal pros and cons 5 March, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Great weblog right here! Additionally your website
    so much up very fast! What host are you the use of? Can I am
    getting your affiliate hyperlink to your host? I desire my
    web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  8. 8 Jannie 19 April, 2014 at 4:56 am

    Hey there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.

    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone4.
    I’m trying tto find a theme or plugin that might be able
    to resolve this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Appreciate it!

  9. 9 menagesurbordeaux.com 22 September, 2014 at 11:50 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or
    did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as
    I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know
    where u got this from. thanks a lot


  1. 1 Eddy Young » How I Came to Enjoy Writing Trackback on 3 June, 2006 at 12:47 am

Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


