Poetry Thursday

by Khalil A. Cassimally

— 

The shade of friendship

To see me in this shade
Is comfort to me
Because being in your shade
Is much better than being illuminated by the sun.

Friendship is everything, really
It's a voice that whispers delicate words to mine ears
It's a hand that holds me when I'm falling
It's an eye that always looks upon me when I'm alone.

Without friendship,
I would be standing in the shade of the sun
And would fall in love with something
As far away as a star.

With friendship,
I am standing in the shade of a heart
And falling in love with the music it sings
Everytime I come nearer.

To see me in this shade
Makes me feel at home
To see me as a shade
Makes me feel in heaven.

That's friendship
That's what it's all about
So, don't blame the sun
Don't blame me
Don't blame friendship either.
[Blame yourself.]
— 

Note:

  • This poem was inspired from a line of Jeffrey Yamaguchi's poem.  That special line being: To see me in this shade.  Thanks for sharing it with me, Jeffrey!
  • Check out Poetry Thursday and cry your heart out every Thursdays.  The concept is simple: share poetry on your blog.
1 Response to “Poetry Thursday”


  1. 1 Jason Boog 29 May, 2006 at 11:48 pm

    Great poem. Thanks for stopping by over at my site too. I’m really looking forward to No Media Kings weekend. Feel free to suggest new writers for my interview series at anytime.

    Cheers,
    Jason Boog


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


