Biologically insomniac

It’s 22:32 as I’m typing this entry, in my room, on an HP laptop. And I’m feeling sleepy which is no surprise at all. I went to sleep at night at about 01:00 this morning to wake up due to the exasperating beeps of the alarm clock at 06:25. On a closer look 5 hours and 25 minutes isn’t that bad (I know, doctors do recommend more) but then I’ve been going to bed late everyday of the week as well.

Thing is there’s a lot of work to be done, completed and started. Yesterday night for instance, I had to work on my biology assignment on infectious diseases (cholera, malaria, tuberculosis and AIDS) to be handed in the following day – that is to say today itself. I know that I should not wait till the last minute to do the work but my timetable is already real packed the way it is right now, itself.

Let’s see, on Monday I had to do my physics tuition work on Charged Particles and their deflections in a magnetic field. On a side note, it’s amazing how those moving charged particles travel in a perfectly circular path when placed in a magnetic field, isn’t it? Logical but amazing nonetheless. I had like, fifteen multiple choice questions on this topic through which I could, more or less, work my way out. Then there were some short questions, which were easier than the multiple choice ones in the sense that they were basically the same questions over and over again, being rephrased and set in different wordings. Obviously the long questions that came later on were characteristically hectic, to say the least. But coming to think of it, I don’t think I worked them out at home that Monday night. Instead I did them at school the following day during my supposedly Biology class. (Don’t ask, long story.)

Maybe on Tuesday I did take a break from work although that doesn’t mean I went to sleep early. Well relatively early actually: 11:30. What did I do during all this time? Watch the week-end’s football highlights and read some articles from the latest QEC magazine, which I found personally gratifying – especially the photo pages.

As I said yesterday I worked on my Bio assignment yesterday and I learned some quite interesting statistics along the way. For example, did you know that in Zimbabwe, 1 out of 4 people are infected with HIV (Human Immunodeficiency Virus)? And did you know that the average life expectancy in South Africa has decreased from 65 to 55 years of age in a period of 4 years, from 1995 to 1999?

Biology might be an immensely interesting subject – the most appealing academic subject according to me – but it comes with a lot of hard work. I’m now trying to find my bearings in the chapter, “Respiration,? where all sorts of oxidation steps (Krebs cycle, oxidative phosphorylation) are intermingled to form complex array of equations and theory, which eventually shows how energy is being produced from the oxidation of sugar in the body. Complicated, you think? Well, I have to admit that it indeed is to some extent although it is undeniably absorbing once you’re in the subject. “Once you pop, you can’t stop,? as Pringles states. Actually I suddenly have this urge to open my biology textbook and learn a bit more about this “Respiration? quagmire.

In any case, it does look like I’ll be staying up till late again today. Blame me or not, but that’s the way things are in my life: messy and exhausting and yet enriching and satisfying. Ah well, I’ll sleep in the bus while on my way to school tomorrow, I guess.

0 Responses to “Biologically insomniac”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


