Google Earth launched + FREE

This was a complete secret until its launch. Just like any other day, when I connect to the Internet, I open 3 tabs in Firefox namely GMail, backwash.com and hi5.com. And then I wait for my RSS feeds (still in my Firefox browser) to load and check for any cool updates. On of those feeds are from John Battelle’s Searchblog. He’s a very popular blogger and blogs about search engines and blogs.
Well he hadn’t reported anything about such a Google release. This means that he didn’t find any other sources who fought about it – thus not reporting it – or he himself didn’t forsee this. In short, nobody saw this coming.
But back to Google Earth. This is a fantastic piece of software. Dad, being a civil engineer, has this sort of programs on his PC at work and I’ve always dreamed of having one for me. REALLY! And now it’s more than possible. Because with a click I can get Google Earth on my PC – obviously it’s free.

The idea is simple. It’s a globe that sits inside your PC. You point and zoom to anyplace on the planet that you want to explore. Satellite images and local facts zoom into view. Tap into Google search to show local points of interest and facts. Zoom to a specific address to check out an apartment or hotel. View driving directions and even fly along your route.

This is so great an idea that Google had here. Unfortunately it’s only a huge map of the US. Maybe we should all email them and ask them to release the internetional version quickly.
However you need a 128kps connection to be able to utilize it properly. And as you know, I’m still on 40kps for the time being but I’m finally shifting to ADSL 128kps in a week. Cool! Plus I don’t know why they’re hiding the size of the software. I even started downloading in on my dial-up just to check the size but it stated that the size is unknown! Strange.
To finish in style, let me just say that Google ROCKS! As usual.
Add-on: Be sure that I’ll review this software when I download it.
1 Response to “Google Earth launched + FREE”


  1. 1 Ezra 28 November, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Hi All Experts,
    Does anyone use google earth images as ground image planes for use in aerial scenes. I know how to stitch them together but are there any tools or tricks to make sure that the images are at the same height, angle and such to make sure they stitch well. I know in the pro version you can get bigger images but im not going to pay for the pro version when i could stitch multiple images together…


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

thetigre

the village of the monster

zxcde

More Photos

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


