You’ll never walk alone

[song: You’ll never walk alone – fans chanting_LiverpoolFC anthem]
 
It’s been more than 36h since Liverpool lifted their 5th Champions League Trophy.  What a dream-come-true! Throughout the whole of yesterday, I couldn’t get the Liverpool anthem out of my head and I still can’t now.  This is more than a song.  It is the trademark of LiverpoolFC.

When you walk through a storm
Hold your head up high,
And don’t be afraid of the dark.
At the end of a storm,
There’s a golden sky,
And thesweet silver song of a lark.

Walk on through the wind,
Walk on through the rain,
Though your dreams be tossed and blown…
Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart,
And you’ll never walk alone,
You’ll never walk alone.

Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart,
And you’ll never walk alone…
You’ll never walk alone.

This, my dears, is a song that I will never forget.  A song that will always have a special place in my heart.  Nobody apart from Liverpool supporters can understand the magic of this song.

I remember the other day when Moobeen (my karake tutor) jokingly told me that as a Liverpool fan, I’ll always walk alone.  I didn’t say anything but I know that as a Manchester United fan, Moobeen doesn’t understand how the “You’ll Never Walk Alone” slogan is important to us, Liverpool fans.  I repeat, only Liverpool fans can understand the magic of this song.

Afterall, LiverpoolFC is a magic club indeed.

13 Responses to “You’ll never walk alone”


  1. 1 ceyang 25 September, 2006 at 9:38 am

    true enough. ur a true blue liverpool fan! we’ll never walk alone.

  2. 2 MUFC: The Religion 2 January, 2007 at 3:30 am

    It’s a shame United sung it first, eh?..

    ONE of the most bitter rivalries in football has taken a new twist with the claim that Liverpool fans stole their famous You’ll Never Walk Alone anthem from Manchester United supporters.

    Grandmother Jane Hardwick says she was left seeing red after reading a letter in a newspaper which said the song, made famous by Gerry and the Pacemakers, was first belted out on the terraces of Anfield.

    Jane, a lifelong Reds’ supporter from this end of the East Lancs Road, claims it was originally sung by her and thousands of fans at Old Trafford long before it became associated with Liverpool.

    Jane, 61, was a teenage opera singer when many of her footballing heroes were killed in the tragic Munich air crash in 1958.

    And as her own special tribute to the Busby Babes, heartbroken Jane convinced her friends from New Mills Operatic Society in Derbyshire to join her in a rousing rendition of the song at one of the games following the tragedy.

    The tune was written for the 1945 musical Carousel, which Jane and her friends were rehearsing at the time. The pals started the singing but soon You’ll Never Walk Alone was being belted out by thousands of fans at Old Trafford.

    However, during the 1960s the song was adopted by Liverpool fans.

    Jane, who now runs a bed and breakfast in Leek, was first taken to Old Trafford at six weeks old by her father and grandfather.

    She said: “It has annoyed me so much that people think the song was first sung by the Liverpool fans.

    “The Munich crash was so horrible and everyone was feeling down and despondent and it just seemed an appropriate song to sing.

    “It was an emotional time and I managed to persuade my friends to join in with me. Soon the whole ground was singing it and many people, including me, were in tears.

    “I never dreamed it would become the anthem of our old rivals but I wanted to put the record straight about where the song originated from on the terraces.”

  3. 3 LFC! 5 February, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Ahh shurrup man! LFC made it their own even if we did adopt it … use didn’t make the song famous! WE DID LIVERPOOL FC! so get used to it! the most famous club in the world! haha unluck u stupid manc!

    Y.N.W.A

  4. 4 AFC 7 February, 2007 at 2:30 am

    I know the above is a very old thread but what a stupid fool that LFC is. Cant spell, doesn’t know the history of the Mancs! what a fool!!!!

  5. 5 BenR 7 February, 2007 at 4:21 am

    started after gerry and the pacemakers sang it (you lot never took it up) what more can i say?

  6. 6 Matt 19 March, 2007 at 1:18 am

    I think the song apart of liverpools tradition because of a far greater tragedy than the manchester united crash in munich. 1989 the hillsborough disaster. 96 of my fellow LFC supporters died that day, an most of them were teenagers an children. 20 seriuosly hurt, 200 hurt this is why we more than deserve the anthem youll never walk alone. i was eight at the time an it still brings a tear to my eyes till this day. Its a shame the song became a true part of liverpool because of such a tragedy. When that song is sung at anfield thats what everyone remembers,, 15 of april 1989.

  7. 7 pauline 13 April, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Even though that this song is intended for football .I am from Liverpool an this song means a grate deal to me as its a song for all us scouses out there. There are no people on this earth like the people from Liverpool.
    Walk on with hope in all your Hearts.

  8. 8 pauline 13 April, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    B4 I leave you all.it was Gerry and The Pacemakers that wrote this song. A well know Liverpool band.

  9. 9 Ste 10 July, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Gerry and the Pacemakers did not write this it was wrote for Carosel the Musical some years earlier, which adds weight to the theory United sung it first after Munich.

  10. 10 Mike Saxon 25 September, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    ‘Pauline’, making a complete tit of herself by stating that Gerry and the Pacemakers wrote the song.

    But she’s right about one thing. There are no people on this earth like the people from Liverpool.

    Thank Christ for that eh?

  11. 11 Sepehr 19 April, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    I’m a real Liverpool fans.LIverpool is always in my heart.this is the love.Liverpool holds an especial place in my heart.I love Liverpool and who loves

  12. 12 leeanne 5 February, 2011 at 10:08 am

    I am from Glasgow I am a Celtic and Liverpool fan and wen the tragadey of the hillsborough disaster happend celtic football club was the first to step in and hold a tribute game in memory of the 96.you’ll never walk alone is liverpools song but also sung at celtic park. LIVERPOOL AND CELTIC YOU’LL NEVER WALK ALONE!!!

  13. 13 FelixX 26 August, 2017 at 9:21 pm

    I have noticed that your website needs some fresh content.
    Writing manually takes a lot of time, but
    there is tool for this time consuming task, search for: unlimited content Wrastain’s tools


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


