I disconnect

First of all, thanks to the comments I received and soory for not having responded to any sooner than this.

Well I’m leaving the world of the internet for some time I’m sorry to say. I’ve got exams coming up in 2 months and there you have it. But I’ll be back after this – promise.

Before I leave you here’s an 2 essays that I’ve written a month ago.

P.S. I’ll try to post stuff here from time to time though.

__________

Writing without inspiration
by K.A.Cassimally

Dear Self,

You do know that this letter is being written because you want it to get published on some online magazines, don’t you? You also realise that you are writing a letter of which you know nothing in terms of content. Allow me to translate. You may well be on the verge of writing something incredibly stupid and then get those poor editors out there to read it! But maybe you’ll write something that comes from your heart and if that’s so, your future readers will surely enjoy it (if of course the bloody editors do).

Let me tell you Self that the idea of writing something although my inspiration meter was showing ‘zero’ struck me some weeks ago. But I admit that at that time, I was a little screwed up! Let me explain. Well you see, when I say, ‘screwed up’, I don’t want you to understand that I’ve got a lot of work to do, no. In fact I’m in holidays and I’m just reading books (I mean book – Inconceivable by Ben Elton), articles (Slate’s pressbox in particular) and of course I’m surfing the net.

Speaking of the net Self, I’m afraid that I have to tell you something else. I’ve been sneaking into the computer/tv (whatever) room, keying in the PC’s password, which I should by the way never have known, and connecting to the internet although I know that I’ll be scolded at the end of the month, when the internet bill eventually arrives. And you know what? I’m actually getting connected to the internet to take a look at my email inbox! Yeah to check whether I have received any new emails. You think I’m lonely? Well I’m not! I’m waiting for replies from different editors of various online mags. I recently applied as columnist for some of those many online mags and of course, I’m so excited and impatient (naturally) that I’m checking for new emails every two minutes! Well every two hours actually (I’m not swelling see). And then when night arrives, I’ll say to myself (that is I’ll tell you),
“Why the heck have I checked for new emails this whole day? If I had known that the email wasn’t due to arrive today, I wouldn’t’ve wasted my time.?

I mean now that I’m checking for new emails at 6.00 pm (last check of the day), I start to feel angry (towards you, Self – obviously). I mean there’s no email from these git of editors.

I’m really sorry to bother you with all these unimportant and idiotic stuff of a teenage boy Self, but if I can’t tell you this then to whom am I supposed to relate all these things to? Mum? You’re kidding; she’ll tell me to do more decent things than surf the internet all day (she’s right too). But I do speak to her much, mind you. Dad? Well it’s going to be pretty bad for me when that internet bill arrives in 3 weeks and you don’t want me to get scolded right now, do you? I mean, when the bill comes (in a month remember), I’ll get what I’ll get. I don’t want to get what I’m supposed to be getting in the future just now!

Anyway, I was just taking a look at the length of the article, Self. For an unplanned and ‘uninspired’ article, I think that I’ve done a pretty good job. But like I said, I’m only looking at the length of the article. I can’t think about quality however. I guess that there’s only you who can tell me that this letter is a marvellous one and that I’ll most probably get editors begging to get it published on their online mag. But I know that you’ll say that this letter sucks, so why should I bother to ask you?

Ok, still looking at the length of this letter, I’ve now written one and three quarter page. Only a few more lines to round it off to two whole pages then.

So… euhhh…well… euhhh…

Yeah Self, as I was saying I only need a few more words. Only three lines left to fill man! Hey; BRAINSTROM! I’m writing a letter, aren’t I? I therefore have to include stuff like, “Yours faithfully? or “Yours truly? in the end, haven’t I?

Yipee!

Yours truly,
Khalil – yeah that’s you, Self.

P.S. I was just re-reading this letter and I thought, “hey, not bad man?. I mean this article wasn’t supposed to have been written in the first place, was it? I am even thinking of doing a Part2! Ok, Ok… you’ll get bored to death. Anyway, first thing to do tomorrow, type this article and email it to some editor of a popular online mag. I can still dream… I mean, WE can still dream can’t we?

P.S.S. By the way, I’m on my third page. I tell you; two sheets! Only a few more lines and we finish at two and a half pages. Ok, ok… I stop. Finally. I’m not going to bother you anymore, Self. I’ll let you rest… euhhh… in peace, I mean. I’ll let you regain all your energy. I’ll… OUCH! I got the message, alright!

_____________

There’s a sort of part2. I’ll try to post it here as soon as possible but I don’t promise anything. If you really want to read it then email me.

2 Responses to “I disconnect”


  1. 2 wilbur 22 February, 2007 at 9:31 am

    good post – filled my coffee break


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

thetigre

the village of the monster

zxcde

More Photos

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


