Films I have to watch

  1. Children of Men (2006)
    Directed by Alfonso Cuarón, the mastermind behind superbly-directed Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and starring Clive Owen, this movie recounts our world in 2027.  A world in which humans can no longer procreate.  But then there’s a pregnant woman somewhere and she has to be transported to scientists save the future of humankind.

  2. Little Miss Sunshine (2006)
    The name of this movie has always intrigued me.  It seemed nice.  And I watched the trailer – and liked it too – but I didn’t make the connection until a couple of days ago.  It’s a comedy, written by newbie Michael Arndt, about a family’s car trip in their VW bus to get their younger daughter to the finals of the beauty pageant.

    Plus it stars hilarious Steve Carell, who leads in famous TV show, The Office.  This movie is set to shine in the Oscars.

  3. Babel (2006)
    Golden Globe Award-winning film, Babel stars Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett amongst others and is directed by Mexican Alejandro González Iñárritu.  The movie basically follows the torments of different families and morphs all the story lines in the end.

    It’s definitely not one of those “light” movies.  Rated R.

  4. Happy Feet (2006)
    Cute, cute, cute animation.

What do you think? Any recommendations?

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Films I have to watch”


  1. 1 Hans 24 January, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    I won’t recommend you Happy Feet. I’ve started watching it but dropped after some 15 minutes. In the category of rather cute animation, I would suggest you Chicken Little. It’s also funny.

    I’ve seen the trailer of both Babel and Children of men from yes — Avant Premier but I’m not yet so convinced about watching them.

    On my side, the films on my waiting list are:
    - Labyrinthe de Pan
    - many more that aren’t out yet like Transformer, 4 Fantastic 2 and Spiderman 3

  2. 2 Khalil A. 24 January, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I watched Chicken Little. It was ok. I actually watched Happy Feet’s trailer on the screens. It was featured before Harry Potter 4. Indeed, that’s one and half year back but it really made the whole cinema laugh out loud.

    Labyrinthe de Pan seems interesting. I don’t quite like superhero films but I will be on the look-out for Spiderman 3. Got to know who it’s ending, right? And, of course, Harry Potter. And Shrek 3 although it’ll be difficult to beat Shrek 2.

    Let’s just hope that this year, the movies aren’t as catastrophic as they were in 2006. Well, not all of them but you know…

  3. 3 waz 25 January, 2007 at 4:30 am

    Add-ons for your list: The Departed, Blood Diamond, Apocalypto

    if you like Children of men, you may enjoy code 46 (a 2003 British SF movie)

  4. 4 Khalil A. 25 January, 2007 at 9:33 am

    The Departed? I don’t think so. Not really my type. But I’ll check Blood Diamond (from the title of the movie, I would think that it’s not my type either), Apocalypto (same thing!) and code 43 on IMDB.

  5. 5 Hans 25 January, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    me too don’t like superhero stuff like superdude/man :) but the 4 fantastic 2 seems thrilling with the new méchant with his skateboard. Infact i haven’t watched the first one but after checking a post on waz blog, I told I should give that one a try. I don’t know where’s the post.

    Yeah man Shrek 3. I watched that trailer and hot super funky it was. Waiting when it would be out. I would prefer watching it in English version as there would be Antonio Banderas playing the cat and man that’s tooo funny. Yeah and also Eddy Murphy playing the donkey. wazaaaaaa

  6. 6 Khalil A. 25 January, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    I like to watch all the movies in their original languages. I watch practically everything in English here actually. There are some jokes or phrases which you just can’t translate in another language as well so…

  7. 7 Alok 8 June, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Hi Khalil,

    This is my first time on your blog. Couldnt resist posting a comment here :) Probably you have already seen Children of Men. If you havent, I guess it’s still not very late to warn you :D…It’s not a great movie.

    Have you watched Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, Fly Away Home, Ne khochu byt vzroslym (Russian, English Title – I Don’t Want to Be an Adult), Dil Se..(Hindi, English Title – From the Heart)…These are few of the lesser known movies (here in India, except the last one) which I enjoyed immensely.

  8. 8 Khalil A. 8 June, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Alok,

    Thanks for the thorough comment. I quite appreciate it. I have indeed already seen Children of Men and I enjoyed it too. But it isn’t anywhere near a modern classic.

    I haven’t watched any of the other movies you have mentioned either although I believe I have heard the title “I Don’t Want to Be an Adult” before. What type of movie is it?

  9. 9 Alok 9 June, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    hmm…It’s about a child whose parents are hell bent on making him a prodigy…The father wants him to be a scholar and the mom wants him to be a sports genius…The child of course dislikes it and runs away and meets a number of interesting people…I wont tell you the complete story…It’s a wonderful film…A little known masterpiece…quite old one…In early 80′s.

    Check this link: http://imdb.com/title/tt0154941/

  10. 10 pirate bay uk 1 August, 2013 at 7:47 am

    After sometime he becomes so involved with training and getting ready for the competition that his wife, whose covetousness is out of control,
    wants him to stop teaching and turn into an accountant, so
    they can have more money however the teacher was so committed to his
    work that they did his best to develop his team.

    What you need to remember with ads is you can keep them short, attention-grabbing making them need to find
    out more. is the first LNG ship construction shipyard, the prosperity of five LNG ships built to
    the Hudong China has accumulated experience with this basis, Shanghai
    East China actively associated with the first six LNG vessels cum Shanghai LNG carrier
    construction project preparation, the actual design optimization and production with the technical preparations have
    been completed.


Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

Top Posts

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

thetigre

the village of the monster

zxcde

More Photos

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

