My hols part 2

[Listening to: Belle, Fiori/Garou..., Notre Dame de Paris]

After the family was back to work and school, my holidays actually started.  Or did they? I had university application forms to fill and my CV to complete, amongst others.  Loads of stress.

The simple matter of writing a CV proved really tough.  I never even saw one before but thankfully my mum offered some help.  Dad then polished it and I’m proud to say that I now have a full two-pages CV, one of them entirely dedicated to a list of my published articles.

Dad thought I should be a little more ambitious with the university applications.  He thought it would be much better if I included my CV, some testimonials, things that I would be doing during my sabbatical and a sample of my published articles.  I must say that I was totally for this but, hell, it was a lot of work.

In the end, I had a (five copies actually) binded document and just to give you an idea of how enormous (relative) it was, I paid MUR700 to send it, through the Mauritius Post, to Australia.

As mentioned above, there are things I’m doing during my sabbatical, before enrolling to university in June this year.  I’m getting involved in some social work with an NGO called SOS Poverty, which basically helps needy inhabitants of Vallee Pitot, Port Louis.  I also started violin and I’m learning Solfege in the process.  But what’s really exciting is that I have commenced a distance-learning Internet Journalism course from The London School of Journalism.

It’s really cool.  I submitted by first assignment last week and I actually received a reply from my tutor today itself.  The first assignment was more of an introduce-yourself one and the tutor thought it was good work.  So far, so good.

[Listening to: Last Christmas, Wham, George Micheal]

In the same vein, I am concentrating on my writing quite a lot.  I think I mentioned this before but I’m up to something big.  If all goes well, I’ll be able to tell you everything by this Thursday.  It’s really an important thing for me.

On a side note, I am downloading episodes after episodes of The Office.  And now I only have 200Mb of free space on my hard disk! What am I going to do??

And, oh, I’m happy right now.

[Listening to: Teardrop, - , Portishead & Massive Attack]

Leave a Reply

Proudly sponsored by

What’s up in my life?

1. Best friends: I love you people.
2. My own company: sky media
3. Science is so very cool
4. 6 month sabbatical.

Visitors

Ads

My del.icio.us

My little bro's pics

thetigre

the village of the monster

zxcde

More Photos

RSS Seed Magazine Focus

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Seed Magazine News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Khalil A. Cassimally’s blog


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

